Saturday, June 25

BCB announces Cricket World Cup squad


Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) today declared the squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 in Australia and New Zealand.

BCB President Nazmul Hassan announced the squad at a press conference in the Media Conference Area, SBNCS Media Block (ground floor) at BCB office in capital’s Mirpur.

Mashrafe Mortaza has been selected as the captain while Shakib Al Hasan is made the vice-captain of the squad. Left-hand batsman 21-year-old Soumya Sarkar, who played only one One-Day-International against Zimbabwe, has been enrolled into the squad.

“We have tried to create a balanced team, thus, we have taken a few all-rounders in,” Faruque Ahmed, BCB chief selector, said.

The 15-member squad contains: 1. Mashrafe Mortaza (c), 2. Shakib Al Hasan (vc), 3. Tamim Iqbal, 4. Anamul Haque Bijoy, 5. Mominul Haque, 6. Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 7. Mahmudullah Riyadh, 8. Nasir Hossain, 9. Soumya Sarkar, 10. Taskin Ahmed, 11. Taijul Islam, 12. Sabbir Rahman, 13. Arafat Sunny, 14. Al amin Hossain and 15. Rubel Hossain.

Fast bowler Shafiul Islam has been taken into the squad as a standby while another name for the same position is yet to be confirmed.

The team will fly for Brisbane on January 24.