Friday, July 19

Umpire: England wrongly given run


 

 

England were wrongly awarded an extra run in their Cricket World Cup final victory over New Zealand, according to a former international umpire, on their way to a dramatic super-over win at Lord’s.

In the final over of regular play, Ben Stokes inadvertently deflected the ball off his bat to the boundary rope as he dived to reach the crease, turning what would have been two runs into six and playing a crucial role in equalling New Zealand’s total to force a super-over.

But the well-renowned former international umpire Simon Taufel says the on-field umpires made a “clear mistake” in awarding England six runs, rather than the correct figure of five, as the batsmen had not yet crossed when the ball was thrown. It also meant that England’s best batsman, Stokes, retained the strike.

Speaking to Foxsport.com.au, Taufel referred to the rather vague rule 19.8 of the MCC rulebook which states: “If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be:

– any runs for penalties awarded to either side

– and the allowance for the boundary

– and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.”

“It’s a clear mistake … it’s an error of judgment,” Taufel said.

However, the Australian did defended his former colleagues, Kumar Dharmasena and Marais Erasmus, describing them as the “best of the best”.

“The difficulty you (umpires) have here is you’ve got to watch batsmen completing runs, then change focus and watch for the ball being picked up, and watch for the release (of the throw),” he said.

“You also have to watch where the batsmen are at that exact moment.”