Thursday, May 30

PM hands over Ekushey Padak to 17 eminent persons



Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina handed over the Ekushey Padak 2017 to seventeen eminent personalities on Monday in various categories for their outstanding contributions to their respective fields.

The prime minister gave the prestigious award to the recipients at a ceremony held at Osmani Memorial Auditorium.

The awardees are—Dr Sharifa Khatun (Language Movement), Shushama Das (music), Julhas Uddin Ahmed (music), Ustad Ajijul Islam (music), Tanvir Mokammel (film), Syed Abdullah Khalid (sculpture), Sara Zaker (acting), Abul Momen (journalism), Syed Akram Hossain (research), Professor Emeritus Sr Alamgir Mohammad Sirajuddin (education), Dr Zamilur Reza Choudhury (science and technology), Professor Sr Mahmud Hasan (social welfare), late poet Omar Ali (language and literature), Sukumar Barua (language and literature), Swadesh Roy (journalism), Shamim Ara Nipa (choreography), and Rahmatullah Al Mahmud Selim (music).

Each recipient got a gold medal, a certificate and a cheque of Taka 2lakh.

Minister for Cultural Affairs Asaduzzaman Noor presided over the function while Cabinet Secretary Shafiul Alam conducted the programme and read out the citations of the awardees.

Cultural Affairs acting Secretary Ibrahim Hossain Khan gave the welcome address.